Tantra Coffee House

Folks. It finally happened. I found a bad one.

A rightful critique of this blog is that it might just be too positive. I don’t think any place I’ve reviewed has disappointed me so far, but that streak ended this week. I had been to Tantra Coffee House before, and I remembered really liking it, but now that I’ve been again it doesn’t hold a candle to most of the places I’ve been to. So without further ado, listen to some emotional (but very beautiful) Samuel Barber while you read my first negative review. 😦

The Drink

So basically, this coffee was incredibly disappointing in comparison to the other places I’ve been recently. I didn’t know my beloved white mocha could let me down so much. It had a generally weird taste and just wasn’t that good. On top of that, it was very expensive compared to everywhere else I’ve been. I ended up paying almost $7 (after a small tip) when I paid less than $5 everywhere else. Sorry, Tantra, but no coffee in the world is worth that much.

The Atmosphere

Tantra is a pretty cute place. More cute that Jo on the Go and Mochas & Javas, but much less cute than Wake the Dead. It feels a little like a Wake the Dead rip-off (this could be completely unfounded, I’m not sure which came first).

I like the chalkboard menu!

I like the chalkboard menu!

It has some inside seating and a large outdoor area, but it’s located on the very busy Hopkins Street so it’s noisy out there. Not my favorite.

Other inside seating

Other inside seating

The Location

Like I said before, Tantra is on a busy street. Geographically it’s not too far from campus, but still not the most convenient for me. The location is just decent to me.

Did they carry the Star? I did see a copy! But I think someone had just carried it in… More disappointment.

Overall, I give Tantra 1.5 out of 5 stars. It hurts me to do it, but I have to be real. Sorry Tantra.

One thought on “Tantra Coffee House

  1. I strongly agree with your review of Tantra. I have only visited the shop twice, but was not impressed either time. I am an avid coffee fan and hate when I stumble upon a coffee shop that is disappointing. My biggest problem was the price as well. I agree with the fact that no coffee is worth the price they charge. This is my first time on your blog, but I will definitely be checking back in! IYou chose an interesting topic and have helpful, informative posts!

    Like

Leave a comment